The First 100 days of Being a Father of Two

A Curious Can of Warmth
3 min readFeb 8, 2024

--

My second son was born on October 30, 2023. I have been a father of two for 100 days now. When I became a father for the first time, the initial 100 days were long and full of new experiences. My brain was hyper-attentive to every change, and I ended up writing a lengthy blog about it. I anticipated doing the same for my second child, eager to observe all the changes going from one child to two.

Two monsters that are eating me alive :)

However, contrary to my expectations, the first 100 days with my second son flew by quickly. I struggle to come up with a lengthy list of new changes. My body isn’t shell-shocked from constantly waking up throughout the night. Taking care of the infant, from changing diapers to putting the baby to sleep, all feels familiar. Although it’s certainly not easy, it feels incomparably and perplexingly smooth.

Easy, peasy, lemon-squeezy

I believe there are several factors contributing to this smooth transition. The delivery and postpartum recovery were much easier this time around. Additionally, we now live much closer to the in-laws, who are willing to help us out whenever needed. My parents moved a lot closer to our home, making them more available to help out. We also find ourselves more calm and collected than we were the first time. Surprisingly, our first son has been helpful in taking care of his younger sibling, from fetching diapers to being an extra pair of eyes during many car rides.

However, perhaps most importantly, my wife has been making heroic efforts of taking care of two children. Her dedication and hard work have been instrumental in making this transition smoother for all of us.

A key to a stable marriage is to marry a fellow Wolverine. I can’t imaging marrying a Buckeye. Yuck!

Like many aspects of marriage, raising kids can never be a perfectly equal effort no matter how hard we try. My wife spends a disproportionate amount of time and energy taking care of our two sons. Despite my best attempts to match her effort, I always fall short hopelessly.

My son sleeps soundly with an angelic smile on his face when my wife is around but becomes monstrously fussy when I am nearby. It’s a quite humbling fact that I am completely useless, but one that underscores the dedication and sacrifice she makes for our family every day.

I am immensely grateful for my wife, who willingly sacrifices so much to raise our children — a practice that is becoming increasingly unpopular among my peers. I am forever indebted to her for putting many things on hold to bring new lives into this world. I am blessed to have her as my partner in this journey of parenthood.

This time I have no long list of changes; just a single person that deserves many thanks. Thanks wife :)

--

--